Crimson Reflections

Because sometimes the world is too complex for black and white
The Lolita Collective

Don’t Miss it! Gramarye: This Weekend’s Digital Lolita Event

The last digital lolita event I attended seemed to have been missed by a number of people I know due to poor visibility of posts on social media, which is super unfortunate because it was great.

So, I wanted to take a couple quick minutes to let you all know a tiny bit about Gramarye!

There are a number of parts to this event, including a virtual tea party which is already sold out, but I wanted to take a moment to highlight the panels which are going on right now, and last through Halloween. There is also a closing ceremony panel on November 1st.

Friday October 30th, 2020

The Mad Science of the 19th Cent. Soda Fountain
Host: Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery
3:00 PM – 4:30 PM PT / 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery demonstrates recipes from the golden age of Soda Fountains. Want to follow along? See the drinks list and ingredients here

Grayscale Glamour ~ A Specialty Makeup Lesson with Dollfille~
Host: Dollfille
4:45 PM – 6:15 PM PT / 7:45 PM – 9:15 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/dollfille
Join Dollfille as she teaches you how to do grayscale makeup to look like you stepped out of a film from the past. . . or another realm of existence.
This will be a step-by-step tutorial using minimal makeup and PLENTY of art theory; learning grayscale makeup will enhance your skills in a way you never had considered before! This lesson will focus on contouring, highlighting, and sculpting the face, as well as having plenty of useful overall tips for any type of makeup application.  Check out the product list here! You can also check out Dollfille’s Affiliated Amazon list here.

When Costumes Were “Fancy Dress”
Host: Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery
6:30 PM – 8:00 PM PT / 9:30 PM – 11:00 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
We take a look at 19th and early 20th century Fancy Dress options to see what today’s costume party would have looked like over 100 years ago.

Overcoming Fear in J-Fashion
Host: Kawaii Riot
8:15 PM – 9:15 PM PT / 11:15 PM – 12:15 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
‘Overcoming Fear in the J-fashion/Cosplay Community’ focuses on the challenges we face when wearing new styles in public for the first time.

Purestmaiden’s Pumpkin Patch
Hosts: Purestmaiden & Obsixwi
9:30 PM – 10:30 PM PT / 12:30 AM – 1:30 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link:  https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Join Purestmaiden and Obsixwi as they review your submissions to the J-Fashion Pumpkin Decorating Contest! Voting for your favorite pumpkins will begin after this panel, and we will announce the winners at closing ceremony! To be featured in this panel, click here to see our Pumpkin Decorating Contest rules and entry form!

Kawaii or Kowai: J-Fashion Release Review Spoopy Edition
Hosts: Plentiful Pie & Mani Tokkigo
10:45 PM – 11:45 PM PT / 1:45 AM – 2:45 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream
Join Plentiful Pie and Mani Tokkigo as they review and pass judgement on the latest Halloween releases from J-fashion brands! Bring your own witch’s brew and participate in the chat!

Yōkai Sekai (The Spooky World of Yōkai)
Host: Halley M. of The Black Ribbon
12:00 AM – 1:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM – 4:00 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/retrogamechan
As more J-fashion brands release wafuku-inspired pieces, many of them have traditional Japanese folklore and myths associated with the imagery they use. We’ll explore the concepts behind Yokai and other supernatural beings. If you like fairy tales, this might be the panel for you!

Halloween, October 31, 2020

Bloody Brilliant: A Deep Dive into Crimson Peak
Host: Jo G.
7:00 AM – 8:00 AM PT / 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Do you fancy spending an hour gawking at period costumes and uncannily coloured lighting? If so, join me for an obsessively detail – oriented look at the costumes, visuals and themes of Del Toro’s 2015 gothic romance.

The Nature of J-Fashion: A Natural-Kei Panel
Hosts: PurestmaidenAvina
8:15 AM – 9:15 AM PT / 11:15 AM – 12:15 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Please join Purestmaiden and Avina for a discussion of natural-kei! We’ll introduce you to this long-lived Japanese fashion trend by walking you through its history and presenting a how-to guide!

Bloody Devil: A Guro Lolita DIY!
Host: Kaiser
9:30 AM – 11:00 AM PT / 12:30 PM – 2:00 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Want to create the perfect Spooky DIY accessory? Please tune in to see how you can create your own choker and bracelet set! To follow along, be sure to purchase the recommended supplies in advance! Check out the list here.

Gothic Lolita: A Symposium
Hosts: Rose Nocturalia, Vudu Juju, and Kaiser
11:15 AM – 12:45 AM PT / 2:15 PM – 3:45 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Join Rose Nocturnalia,Vudu_Juju and Cursed.Kaiser for a deep dive on the Gothic Lolita subculture. Learn the history, anatomy of an outfit, as well as what notable brands to shop at.

Gramarye Fashion Walk
Host: Mindy
1:00 PM – 1:45 PM PT / 4:00 PM – 4:45 PM ET (45 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Come see our attendees’ cute and spooky coordinate submissions! Voting for the Coord Contest will begin after this panel airs, and winners will be announced at our Closing Ceremony. To be featured in the Fashion Walk, click here to see our rules and entry form!

Victorian Mourning Aesthetic in Lolita
Host: Ashley Marie (Marie Dauphine)
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
The Victorians had a very particular way of honoring the dead and, which heavily influenced their fashion and how they dressed. Join me as I give a brief rundown of Victorian mourning fashion, its influences in modern gothic fashion, and how to integrate pieces and relics into your outfits!

Makeup & Gothic Lolita
Host: Camille of Empire Noir
3:15 PM – 4:15 PM PT / 6:15 PM – 7:15 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Camille, of participating brand Empire Noir, will be sharing her tips on how to elevate your gothic lolita coords and aesthetics with the magic of makeup! This panel will consist of makeup and skincare advice and examples, including application tips for both dark and light skin. Most of the information presented will lean heavily towards more gothic looks, but she will include some information for you sweet and classic lolitas, too, as a treat. 

Posing Panel 301: Poof, Pants, and Photography
Host: Plentiful Pie
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM PT / 7:30 PM – 8:30 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream
Take the graduate course on posing with Plentiful Pie! Learn about accentuating lines and poses that work for different types of J-fashion. Plus, some quick tips on taking the best shot!

DIY With Paradise Rose: Bat Wing Headbands
Host: Lili of Paradise Rose Shop
5:45 PM – 7:15 PM PT / 8:45 PM – 10:15 PM ET (90 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/lilianaavriel
Learn how to make a spoopy bat wing headband with the designer of Paradise Rose Shop. During the panel you’ll learn everything you need to know about how these headbands are made. Kits are available to purchase for the event, or even after as the panel will be recorded, on the Paradise Rose Shop Etsy page. Click here to purchase a kit! If you are following along during the panel. please be sure to purchase one ASAP so it can arrive to you in time to participate. 

Salty Stories to Tell in the Dark: Halloween Edition
Hosts: Emma ZSara Bread
7:30 PM – 8:30 PM PT / 10:30 PM – 11:30 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
😱 Your mom did WHAT to your BtssB dress? You found WHAT in the secondhand bag you just bought? 😱
As a Halloween-themed continuation of our “Salty Stories To Tell In The Dark” series, join Bread.First.Seach and Nycticeivs for a chilling evening of EGL-themed horror stories from your worst nightmares… Ruined brand? Lost shipments? Prepare yourself for a frightful night of tales based off real events that will make you jump out of your petticoats. If you have a J-fashion horror story you’d like to submit, please do so here!

J-Fashion Street Snaps: A Conversation
Hosts: Kelp, Choom of The COMM Magazine, Alice in the Southlands of J-fashion Archives
8:45 PM – 9:45 PM PT / 11:45 PM – 12:45 PM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei
Did you stumble upon the world of J-fashion through FRUiTS magazine? Curious about how alternative fashion magazines would include photos of people dressed to impress in Ura-Harajuku and other happening spots?
Join Choom (Editor-in-Chief of online fashion magazine The COMM) and Alice in the Southlands (J-fashion archivist) for a conversation about the history and significance of street snaps in print, as well as their influence on current fashion photography in virtual spaces online.

Halloween Movie Night
Host: Advil Kiriyama
10:00 PM – 11:45 PM PT / 1:00 AM – 2:45 AM ET (1 hr 45 min)
Join via Netflix Party
Join us for Halloween Movie Night! We will be watching the 1982 classic film, Poltergeist. Join via the Netflix Party browser extension; we will drop the link in our Event Discord right before the set viewing time. If you are interested in watching Halloween and horror films before the event, we are hosting two additional movie nights on October 24th and October 27th. For more information, please visit our movie screening schedule! Please note that this event runs at the same time as the Halloween Trivia event.

Halloween Trivia Game Night
Host: Plentiful Pie
10:00 PM – 11:00 PM PT / 1:00 AM – 2:00 AM ET (~60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream
Plentiful Pie is hosting a Halloween and J-fashion-themed trivia event on Kahoot! Viewers can participate by joining the Twitch stream. We will play three rounds, and each round can hold 10 players each. No registration is necessary, but because spots are limited, joining as a player will be decided by first-come first-serve basis. One well-learned trivia master will win a prize! For more information please see the Halloween Trivia page! Please note that this event runs at the same time as the Halloween Movie Night.

Spooky Color-Along 
Host: Thymine
12:00 AM – 1:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM – 4:00 AM ET (60 min)
Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/thyminet
J-fashion & Halloween-inspired illustration color-along & chit chat. Download an illustration by artist, Thymine, and either print it out or color in digitally! She will coloring along live on stream, and chatting about a variety of topics, including: art, why we love spooky season, and our favorite spooky trends or in J-fashion in general. If you want to color along, you can download the image here!

You can see the full and up-to-date panel schedule here: https://www.bayareakei.org/gramarye-panels

There is also a pocket guide which shows it blocked out by the hour in visual format: https://09d4b345-1602-45e7-b15d-a72cb85511e6.filesusr.com/ugd/7e324d_22b85bc35c334d06a99c739f5fbea41c.pdf

Sales & Specials

A bunch of indie brands are having sales and special releases for this event, you catch the full list here with all the sales and specials listed out: https://www.bayareakei.org/gramarye-brands

But here is just a list of the participating brands:

  • A. Gato Designs
  • Belladonna
  • The Black Ribbon
  • Cottonbook
  • Dandy Puppetrois
  • Dollfille
  • Eat Me Ink Me
  • EMPIRE NOIR
  • Fluffy Tori
  • Hard Decora
  • L.o.M.O. Loungewear
  • Lilith et Adalia
  • Lolita Collective
  • Lulu VanHoagland
  • Mossbadger
  • Nerdy Bit
  • Odd Monster
  • Paradise Rose Shop
  • PlusHii Kawaii
  • Pop Princess
  • Porcelain Song
  • Puvithel
  • Rhapso Broderie
  • Sweet Juju
  • Sweet Mildred
  • TourNewSoul
  • Two Tarts and a Princess
  • Twylite Fashion

One popular new item release is the final re-release of Mossbadger’s Chiropteran Garden series.

You can check out the Gramarye website for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud